lately

Maybe it’s time for something besides pithy quotes, eh?  [Not that my writing can ever match that of the people I quoted the past few weeks.]  I’m spending a chilly afternoon working on some of the final assignments of the semester.  Part of me wishes like crazy that I’d decided to just graduate and get out of Arkansas once and for all, but there’s another small part that looks forward to one last semester with my church community with whom I’m so invested and with treasured friends that I’ll miss so much one day.

I had a whirlwind Thanksgiving break this past weekend, driving up to Kansas City, then to Madison, Wisconsin for a few days with my mom’s side of the family, and finally driving to Chicago for a night with my dad’s side, before flying back down to Arkansas.  With all that car and airport time, I managed to knit a hat and finish the first three books in the Twilight series.  Yes, it’s true.  After resisting all summer, thinking the books looked absolutely dumb, I finally caved and bought the first one.  That was Friday morning.  By Friday evening, I was dragging Lindsey out to go see the Twilight movie and making another Barnes & Noble stop to pick up books 2 & 3.  Escapist fluff was just the ticket for my mood.

I’m not much for book reviews, especially with so much school-related writing in the wings, but I enjoyed these reviews of the books from the Christ & Pop Culture website:

‘Twilight’: A Positive or Negative Influence for Teens?

‘New Moon’: Do Vampires Have Souls? And Other Pressing Questions

‘Eclipse’: No Cheap Grace, No Easy Love

‘Breaking Dawn’: Do We Want A Happy Ending?

I’m going to take some pictures of the latest completed knitting projects soon, so I can post them here.  I haven’t picked up the camera in ages, and that’s going to change once this paper is done.  Until then…

Leave a Reply

