God is not a Magic 8-Ball

This article made me really stop and think…

“In my life today what ultimately matters is not whether I get the right job, or pursue the right girl, or buy the right house. Certainly these are all extremely important. But what ultimately

matters is pleasing the God who saved me. My desires and plans and hopes and dreams must be shaped by the God that created and saved me. Charles Spurgeon writes in his commentary on the Psalms:

“Men who delight in God desire or ask for nothing but what will please God; hence it is safe to give them carte blanche. Their will is subdued to God’s will, and now they may have what they will.”

I realized that during the course of my decision I’d started spending less time reading God’s Word, less time praying, less time delighting in God. And the time I did spend in Scripture was about “finding an answer,” and not primarily about communing with God.”

One thought on “God is not a Magic 8-Ball

Leave a Reply

