[awash in hope]

“I don’t care if anyone comes for me,” said Edward.

“But that’s dreadful,” said the old doll.  “There’s no point in going on if you feel that way.  No point at all.  You must be filled with expectancy.  You must be awash in hope.  You must wonder who will love you, whom you will love next.”

“I am done with being loved,” Edward told her.  “I’m done with loving.  It’s too painful.”

“Pish,” said the old doll.  “Where is your courage?”

“Somewhere else, I guess,” said Edward.

“You disappoint me,” she said.  “You disappoint me greatly.  If you have no intention of loving or being loved, then the whole journey is pointless.”

[“someone will come for you.  But first you must open your heart.”]

-Kate DeCamillo,

The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane

I picked up this children’s book about a china rabbit while I hung out in Barnes & Noble the other day.  I’ve scarce read anything in any book so moving as this passage, near the final pages.  It appears one might have much to learn from dolls and china rabbits.

Leave a Reply

