an end

Since I moved at the beginning of December and once more have access to a legal, regularly-available connection to the internet, my list of excuses for not writing grows thin.  Also, I spent some time hanging out and catching up with one of my oldest, most awesome friends tonight, whose blog-writing regularly makes me giggle uncontrollably, and I decided that since she does it, blogging must be alright.  I tend to swing between the opinion that updating the aether or the world at large about my life is hopelessly self-aggrandizing, and that of wanting to do so for the sake of friends and staying in touch.  Then I worry about my writing not being good enough, rendering the whole thing even more hopelessly and terribly self-conscious.  Get over yourself, Sara.

As of this writing, we’re 56 minutes into the final day of 2010.  It’s traditional to look back over the past year, evaluate resolutions and goals, recount favorite memories, and resolve some more.  Although my first year of making real-life, overly-ambitious resolutions was less than a resounding success, the past year has been one of great growth.  Unpredictable, heart-wrenching, but everything I could have asked for and more.  I have friendships that are far richer than any I’ve had before.  I have the opportunity to love and serve and knit with and trade stumbling syllables in Nepali & English with the Bhutanese refugees for whom I’ve grown to care so much.  I’ve had several near-starts on the relationship front, but in the last days of the year I have finally come to some realizations and some healing.

I have no idea what the next year will hold.  It might mean beginning grad school, moving overseas, or any one of a great many other things.  I only know that my Father is still good, that he is setting the path before my feet.  In Him I have been made complete.

Leave a Reply

