deep and dazzling darkness

I reread one of my favorite novels this week, A Ring of Endless Light, by Madeleine L’Engle.  An open letter to the author on McSweeney’s reminded me how much I needed to absorb some of the things in that book afresh.  So.  A few of those things:

“Prayer was never meant to be magic,” Mother said. “Then why bother with it?” Suzy scowled. “Because it’s an act of love.”

 

“How do you pray for someone like that?”  Grandfather held out his open hand, palm up. “There are many different ways. I simply take him into my heart, and then put him into God’s hand.” Again he smiled. “That sounds like rather an athletic feat, doesn’t it? Nevertheless, it’s as close as I can come to telling you.”

 

that every life is noted and is cherished / and nothing loved is ever lost or perished


There is in God, some say, / A deep but dazzling darkness: as men here / Say it is late and dusky, because they / See not all clear. / O for that Night, where I in him / Might live invisible and dim!

Leave a Reply

