in time of parting

Dear Grandpa, 

I’m writing with a great deal of sadness that I am not able to see you and say these things out loud, but with the hope that I might be able to more fully and clearly express my thoughts in the form of a letter.

I’m so grateful for the love and leadership you have given to this family over the years. I have so many wonderful memories of time spent with you:  catching my first fish, walking to the park, riding on your boat, and visiting you in Florida.  I remember conversations with you about what I wanted to be when I grew up, and the value of hard work.  I remember going deer hunting with you and sitting in the cold until we couldn’t feel our legs, without seeing a single deer.  I remember lots of admonitions not to bother Gus. Mostly I smile as I think back on these memories, and the part you have played in my life.  I would not be here without you, grandpa.

I’ve been praying for you often, through the years, but especially in these past few weeks, that your heart would be filled with the peace that goes beyond our limited, human understanding.  That your hope for eternity would rest firmly in Jesus alone, and nothing else.  The Bible says that those who believe this truth can view death as only a temporary loss, giving way to the beauty and joy of new bodies and a world made new, without pain or sin. Jesus’ final promises on earth overflow with the gladness of solid hope amid the sorrow of death: “My joy will be in you, and your joy will be made full. Your grief will be turned to joy.”

I love you so very much, Grandpa.  I hope more than anything that you are clinging to the One who alone is able to carry you in this dark hour, to ‘keep you from stumbling and to present you blameless before the presence of his glory with great joy.’

your loving granddaughter,
Sara

‎”the Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit….the Lord redeems his servants; no one will be condemned who takes refuge in him.”
-psalm 34:18,22

“Those who walk uprightly enter into peace; they find rest as they lie in death. But the man who makes Me his refuge will inherit the land and possess my holy mountain.”
-isaiah 57:1-2,13b

Leave a Reply

