knowing

“Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which comes through faith in Christ, the righteousness from God that depends on faith— 10 that I may know him and the power of his resurrection, and may share his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, 11 that by any means possible I may attain the resurrection from the dead.”

phil 3:8-11

Unworthy as I am to claim to have taken on any suffering, I meditate on these verses and beg the Father that the loss of much I held dear will yield clarity, and reliance on Him, and the surpassing beauty of a deep knowing.

We have been in the city 36 hours now.

One thought on “knowing

  1. I love these verses. They are a war cry when what you thought you had vanishes, or what you thought you knew goes up in the smoke of who God really is. Besides, a good dramatic reading always lifts my spirits a little!

Leave a Reply

