these days

I walk through darkened streets and slush, wondering if I am the only one in this entire country listening to the new Florence + the Machine album at this particular moment.

I take baths, not showers.

I plan English lessons and laugh with new friends at our language barriers.

I go to ‘coffee shops’ and receive a tiny amount of very sweet coffee in a champagne glass, with a straw.

I read, usually five or seven books at a time, and always with a book of poetry in progress.

I meet fascinating people doing amazing, called-out, passionate things.

I eat bread, so much bread.

I look up at the sunset, and give thanks anew each day to the Father of lights, in whom there is no variation, nor shadow of turning.

4 thoughts on “these days

  1. Still thinking of you and praying for you on this adventure! Love the tidbits of what life looks like for you these days.

  2. Dear Petite Artichoke,
    I got a book of poetry you would be jealous to have. Printed in the 1890’s, a copy of William Cowper’s poety.
    Miss and love,
    Dad

Leave a Reply

